Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Swimming CFE style

Home Forums CFE Topics Swimming CFE style

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Kaitlin 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

charlie6460

I have a question/ issue with the swimming programming with the CFE WOD’s. I recently discovered CF & CFE and love it. The running workouts are fairly straight forward to follow. I have not done a bike workout, but they seem manageable. A trainer or spin bike may be appropriate for those. Anyways, most of the interval swim workouts (like running and biking) are based on time. I have some swimming experience and followed traditional LSD training for triathlons in the past. All of my swim workouts have always been based on distance, especially in the pool. It seems to me that it would be difficult to follow certain prescribed swimming times exactly. For instance, I cannot even imagine how to swim a TABATA in a pool. It seems too difficult to track exactly 20 seconds on 10 seconds off. What is the best method to approach the time intervals in a pool?

RobQ

Charlie,

I would recommend experimenting with your current watch to see if you can hear it go off as you are swimming. If you can, I would look into buying a wristwatch that can do interval alarms and then simply time the 10 seconds on your own. You could possibly set the watch for 20 second intervals, wait for it to go off, then pop up and watch the clock for 10 seconds, and then go after it again. If there is a better way, I’m not really sure. Tabatas in the pool are pretty tough when you’re not used to it. Let me know if this works or if it helped. Good luck!

-Rob

Kaitlin